World Cup Betting Update When is FIFA Women's World Cup 2022

England will now focus on the World Cup (Photo: Jose Breton/NurPhoto/Franck Fife/AFP via Getty Image).

Football fans in the United Kingdom are still buzzing from the Lionesses’ Euro 2022 victory, which was the first major international trophy for any England team – male or female – since 1966.

Sarina Wiegman’s team defeated Germany 2-1 in front of a record-breaking crowd of 87,192 at Wembley Stadium.

With the silverware safely stored away, the focus will now shift to the next major Women’s international football competition: the FIFA Women’s World Cup.

With the men’s World Cup set for the end of 2022, when is the Women’s World Cup set to take place?

Everything you need to know is right here…

When does the FIFA Women’s World Cup take place?

The FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 kicks off on July 20th, 2023, with the final taking place exactly one month later on August 20th, 2023.

England Captain Leah Williamson admits she’s ‘feeling rough’ in post-match interview

FIFA voted in 2019 to expand the Women’s World Cup from 24 to 32 teams beginning with the 2023 tournament.

This means that it will have the same number of teams as the men’s version. That will soon change, as the men’s version will grow to 48 teams in 2026.

Where will the FIFA Women’s World Cup take place?

The FIFA Women’s World Cup will be held in Australia and New Zealand, which will co-host the event.

The final will take place at Sydney’s Stadium Australia.

Australia and New Zealand will share hosting duties, with the final set for Sydney’s Stadium Australia (Photo: David Gray/Getty Images).

How frequently is the Women’s World Cup held?

The FIFA Women’s World Cup, like the men’s competition, is held every four years.

The tournament began in 1991, while the first FIFA World Cup for men was held in 1930.

Since that first competition, which was hosted by China and won by the United States, there has been a Women’s World Cup every four years.

The United States is the most successful team in tournament history, having won the trophy four times.

Who has qualified for the Women’s World Cup in 2023?

So far, 22 teams have qualified, with 10 spots remaining.

England has already secured their place, but a few countries still have play-off games to complete in order to secure their spot.

The United States is the current World Champion. (Photo by Jose Breton/NurPhoto/Getty Images)

The following play-off games will be held on October 11, with some UK home nations still hoping to qualify for the competition:

  • Switzerland vs. Wales
  • Scotland versus the Republic of Ireland
  • Ireland vs. Portugal

Australia and New Zealand automatically qualified for the competition because they are the hosts.

So far, the following teams have qualified:

What teams have qualified for the Women’s World Cup?

  • Australia
  • New Zealand’s
  • Japan
  • Korea, South
  • China Public Relations
  • Phillipines
  • Vietnam
  • Sweden
  • Spain
  • France
  • Denmark
  • USA
  • Canada
  • Costa Rica’s
  • Jamaica
  • Zambia
  • Morocco
  • Nigeria
  • South African Republic
  • Colombia
  • Brazil
  • Argentina
  • Norway
  • Germany
  • England
  • Italy
  • Netherlands

The United States is the defending champion, having defeated the Netherlands, who were then coached by Wiegman, in the France 2019 final.

England finished fourth in that tournament, but their best finish was third place in the 2015 Canada World Cup, where they defeated Germany 1-0 in the third-place playoff.

Women’s World Cup odds 2023

  • USA: 3/1
  • 4/1 for England
  • 5/1 Germany
  • Spain: 11/2
  • 6/1 France
  • 14/1 for the Netherlands

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *